Search This Blog

Powered by Blogger.




NEWS: Orla Gartland Releases New Single And Announces Debut VInyl

Orla Gartland Releases New Digital acoustic version of Figure It Out TODAY & Announces debut vinyl release out 24th July

Read my recent interview with Orla here.

“London-based frontwoman takes her cues from St. Vincent.” –Mystic Sons 
"The dry wit and irreverent style that saw Regina Spektor become a star." - Hot Press 
“Drawing many a comparison to the queen of angst-ridden rock Stevie Nicks.” – TMRW Magazine

 Orla Gartland returns with an acoustic version of her much loved song 'Figure It Out' and announces the release of her debut vinyl; on one side, her 2019 EP ‘Why Am I Like This?’ and on the other her 2020 EP ‘Freckle Season’, alongside ‘Don’t Fall In Love With A Musician’, a vinyl exclusive. 

Today's release, the stripped-back take on 'Figure It Out' is a reflective, beautiful reimagining of the fiery original taken from Gartland’s EP 'Freckle Season', released in February of this year and co-produced by Orla. Both versions of the song appear on the 12” vinyl, available to pre-order from today and available in stores from July 24th. The last two years have solidified Gartland as one to watch and seen the release of two acclaimed EPs; 2019’s Why Am I Like This? and the follow up 'Freckle Season', which was originally released in February this year. 

With over 40 million streams to date and over 750,000 monthly Spotify listeners, now feels like the perfect time for Orla to release her first ever 12”: "This is my first ever vinyl release and personally - I would buy it. I would buy 10. I'm proud of this thing - I think as a collection of songs it speaks to where I am as an artist right now" says Gartland. 

This is Orla's first release since 'Did It To Myself' prominently featured in BBC & Hulu's wildly successful 'Normal People', leading to a 400% jump in streams on the song almost overnight. Reflecting on the opportunity Gartland says: “It's a pretty amazing feeling to have my first sync in a series I consider to be the best television to have come out of Ireland in my lifetime. To have my song 'Did It To Myself' in the soundtrack and & 'Heavy' in the trailer was so cool to me - and the spike in love for those songs since the series aired has been so much more tangible than I expected.” 

Orla’s last headline UK and European tour saw her sell out every venue, including a triumphant final night at London’s legendary Scala. Orla has previously supported dodie, James Vincent McMorrow & Sigrid. Covid-19 led to the cancellation of Orla's next tour supporting Cavetown across Europe, so instead Gartland has spent lockdown writing her debut album and performing for her fans via YouTube (250k subscribers), making up for missed sets headlining a stage at TRNSMT and other cancelled summer festivals. 2019 EP 'Why Am I Like This?' makes up side A of the forthcoming vinyl release - aptly coined “existential pop", the 4-track release has amassed over 12 million streams with the title track becoming Orla's fastest-growing song to date. “Why Am I Like This?” discusses social anxiety, delivered in Gartland’s conversational and confessionary style that has seen her compared to iconic artists such as Stevie Nicks. 

The EP saw her universally relatable lyrics juxtaposed with a colorful alt-pop soundscape – drawing comparisons to artists such as St. Vincent, Regina Spektor and HAIM. 2020 EP 'Freckle Season' makes up side B of the vinyl, Gartland's proudest work to date. “Each track explores a different emotion I cycled through in getting over someone I thought I'd be with forever.” Every song on the EP feels real, visceral and unique - and when they come together they chart a journey of healing that so many can relate to. A perfect and striking playlist of feelings that will inevitably move you. 

This summer Orla turns her focus to writing her debut album, due for release in 2021. 

Why Am I Like This / Freckle Season 12” tracklisting:
Side 1:
1. Why Am I Like This?
2. Flatline
3. Inevitable
4. Overthinking (demo)
5. Vinyl Exclusive: Don't Fall In Love With A Musician 

Side 2. 
1. Did It To Myself
2. Figure It Out
3. Heavy
4. oh GOD
5. New Friends
6. Figure It Out (acoustic)

No comments